Razor Blade Dance Floor Podcast: Episode 002

Going Back In Time (Continued)

Continuing the revisiting of the podcast at its roots, here is episode #2. My thoughts on the making of his episode:

I distinctly remember the excitement and adrenaline that I experienced when I hit the ‘publish’ button for episode #1, and how much urgency that I had to get to the making of the next episode. I recorded this episode twice, making errors and adjustments in an effort to refine my skill sets and to try and record the episode in one take. I desperately wanted to make the episode as streamlined as possible, with the recording process taking place in the span of one single session. At this point in time, I wasn’t necessarily thinking about how the show could expand or what little themes or gimmicks I could throw at the audience to make them come back week after week. I was more concerned about selecting the right music and doing a service for the bands. My focus always has been, and always will be on the music, but as you will see in later episodes, I deviate from that mission statement quite a bit.

Looking at the playlist, I remember how important it was for me to have Hazmat on this show. A lot of the music showcased was heavy and modern sounding, but I really loved the classic coldwave feel that Hazmat exhibited, so it was imperative that I reminded people that the classic 90’s industrial rock sound was alive and well.

The show was recorded within 3 days of recording the first episode, but I waited another couple of days to gather feedback about episode 1 and to make sure I established a regular rhythm with the show. This process is much harder than it seems, especially if you have any awareness what my work schedule was like. It would only get worse in later years. Way worse.

Razor Blade Dance Floor Episode #2

Originally Published: December 3, 2006

Track Listing:

  • The God Project – “Intolerance”
  • Mindless Self indulgence – “Shut Me Up (VNV Nation Remix)
  • Unheilig – “Ich Will Alles”
  • Selling The Ashes – “All My Hell”
  • KMFDM – “Go To Hell (Fuck MTV Mix)”
  • Chemlab – “Atomic Automatic”
  • Human Factors Lab – “Adam and Eve (KMFDM Remix)”
  • Deadstar Assembly – “Killing Myself Again”
  • Oomph! – “Gekreuzigt ’06”
  • Panzer AG – “Paper Angels”
  • Hazmat – “Anticharisma”
  • Tolchok – “Suits, Politics and Money”
  • Ghost In The Machine – “Monster”

2 thoughts on “Razor Blade Dance Floor Podcast: Episode 002

  1. Seecrow says:

    Thank you for (re)introducing me to industrial rock. I’ve listened to the later episodes and its great to be able to finally hear the first episodes and read your comments. Please keep going !!

    • jwgraham1970@mac.com says:

      Thank you so much for your feedback. Several requests have been made over the years to hear these early episodes. I plan on putting all of the episodes up here, as well as new ones when the time is right. Glad to have you around, Seecrow!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *