Razor Blade Dance Floor Podcast: Episode 110

Archive release of episode 110 of Razor Blade Dance Floor.

Originally published on September 9, 2009

Original show notes from this episode:

Another week without Chrome Skin Jesus, because he is in week 2 of his 3 week break from doing the show. This week, One and Plutonium Product from Dark Scene (as well as being from the ex-Yugoslavian area of the world) present to you some of the tracks that inspired them and offer a point of view that the rest of the world rarely gets to experience.

So sit back, relax, and enjoy this excellent presentation.

Here is what can be found on this show:

  •  01 Meathook Seed – Day of conceiving (Embedded, Earache Records) / 1993
  •  02 Orifice – Little Joe (Gash, DIY) / 1987
  •  03 Cat Rapes Dog – Moosehair Underwear (Moosehair Underwear, Energy Rekords) / 1993
  •  04 Youth A.D. – She Loves Her Suicide (Industrial Glue Electronics, CyberfArts Records) / 2009
  •  05 Pitch Shifter – (We’re Behaving Like) Insects (Infotainment?, Earache Records) / 1996
  •  06.Skin Chamber – Bleached Bones (Trial, Roadrunner Records) / 1993
  •  07 Vein Cage – Darkest Hour (Feral Din, Axis Records) / 1992
  •  08 Peace, Love and Pitbulls – Hitch-Hike to Mars (remix) (Moonraker) / 1994
  •  09 Spahn Ranch – Locustus (The Coiled One, Cleopatra Records) / 1995
  •  10 Borghesia – Young Prisoners (Resistance, Jugoton Records) / 1989
  •  11 The Young Gods – Crier Les Chiens (L’Eau Rouge, Play It Again Sam Records) / 1989
  •  12 Project Pitchfork – Carrion (decay mix) (Tyranny of the Beat vol.1, The Grey Area) / 1991
  •  13 Placebo Effect – Pinhead Dowm (Slashed Open, Ausfahrt Records) / 1993
  •  14 Cut N Paste – Death on three legs (Suck It IT’s Still Hot, Dark:Scene Records) / 2004
  •  15 Drumcorps – Incarnate (Grist, Ad Noiseam, Cock Rock Disco) / 2007
  •  16 ZANAos – KKK (KKK EP, Dark:Scene Records) / 2009
  •  17 Big Black – Grinder (The Rich Man’s Eight Track Tape, Homestead Records) / 1987
  •  18 Sielwolf – Magnum Force (Magnum Force, Cashbeat Records) / 1992
  •  19 Yelworc – Soulhunter (Blood in Face, Celtic Circle Productions) / 1993
  •  20 dreDDup – Return of the TV (El Conquistadors, Dark Revolution Records) / 2009
  •  21 Claymore – Orientatia (Metronome, Listen Loudest Records) / 2009
  •  22 Virus-23 – Intimidating God (Virus-23, Funky Mushroom Records) / 1993
  •  23 Klopka za Pionira – Pistolj (Dodole, Ne-Ton Records) / 2009
  •  24 Leech Woman – Illuminator (33 Degees, Invisible Records) / 1997


Razor Blade Dance Floor Podcast: Episode 001

Going Back In Time

I get an occasional request to have access to the older episodes of Razor Blade Dance Floor. It isn’t really that often, but however minimal it may be, there seems to be a general interest in hearing the older episodes again.

The best way to accommodate this is to just go ahead and build an archive, one episode at a time, starting right at the very beginning.


Here is episode #1.

My thoughts 10 years later:

Razor Blade Dance Floor was an original concept that I came up with in 1994. It was going to be a print magazine that was intended to be the Rolling Stone or Alternative Press of industrial music. Due to lack of funds or initiative, magazines like Industrial Nation and Outburn filled that void, so I believed that this was no longer necessary. I began writing for Outburn Magazine, a magazine that originally started out as a Goth/Industrial magazine, but later morphed in to a metal/punk/hardcore scene-zine, mostly because of the economics of targeting a much larger audience. I figure the path to that scene was lined with the gold provided by advertisers, something that was little to non-existent in the Goth/Industrial world.

I can’t fault Outburn for the change in direction; we all need to put food on the table and I get it. Once Outburn made the full transition to a punk/metal rag, I decided that Razor Blade Dance Floor could still be a thing. I continued writing for Outburn, but felt the desire to enter the promotional world of industrial rock and metal. This niche market was being covered by e-zines, most notably Re:Gen Magazine and Fabryka in the early years, but I felt that it was still grossly underrepresented. The early 2000’s saw the exponential growth of the Internet and it was only then that I realized that I could utilize the free platforms of Mp3.com and MySpace to begin my early dabbling in musical promotion. It was not an easy way to reach people at first, mainly because I had no idea what I was doing.

Podcasting became a thing, and I admired the platform greatly, especially since there wasn’t a requirement of an over-the-air broadcast or constant web stream. You could download an episode and listen to it at your leisure wherever you wanted to. After spending 2 years studying the way podcasts were being produced and distributed, I decided that this is where Razor Blade Dance Floor needed to be. Episode #1 was recorded and published in November of 2006.

This first episode isn’t as cringe inducing as I had remembered it being. I am still proud of it. I lack the confidence level that I would later gain as the podcast grew, but that is to be expected. I dreamed of a large audience early on and I approached it with the professionalism that I expected audiences wanted. I took it very seriously, and I believe that the early episodes really exhibit what I intended the podcast to be. I’m jealous of the simplicity by which I approached those early episodes. It was a form of naivety that makes these early episodes so endearing. Knowing what I know now, I wouldn’t change a thing.

Razor Blade Dance Floor Episode: #1

Originally Published: November 26, 2006

Track Listing:

  •   Steril – “Realist”
  •   Vigilante – “Justice”
  •   Re/Move – “Not In My Name”
  •   Terminal Choice – “Devil Daddy”
  •   Hanzel und Gretyl – “Fukken uber Death Party”
  •   Battery Cage – “Hustler”
  •   Eisbrecher – “Freisturz”
  •   Acumen Nation – “My Life Last Breath”
  •   Rabbit Junk – “Demons”
  •   Angelspit – “Vena Cava”
  •   Drumcorps – “Down”
  •   Ministry – “Senor Peligro”